Tags

, , , , , ,

I am an organizer, de-clutterer and thrower outer.  The idea and lifestyle of living with minimal stuff very much appeals to me. (granted, I seem to collect dog crates and agility equipment the way some women collect shoes)  It appeals much less to my husband, but one of the many reasons I love him so much is despite that he chose to tell me about the Tiny House Festival that was yesterday in Concord, MA and we went!

It was very neat being able to see a few tiny houses in real life and to listen to others experiences.  And bonus, Concord and surrounding areas are so pretty to spend time in.

While, I fully admit that living in a Tiny Home (1) is probably not for us, if only for the reason of lack of separation of space, it was great to see them up close.  I was surprised at the height of the homes.  I guess I had figured they would be more the height of an RV or 5th wheel, but nope they are significantly taller.

The various layouts that were displayed in the 5 homes were interesting.  One home had a

IMG_8089

Tom in harness lying beside me resting in the shade

nice doggie sized storage nook that Tom immediately found and lay down, “Finally a space where people won’t step on me!”  One of the homes had a very cool folding stair case, it really was a piece of very functional art.

There were 2 panels of folks for Q&A.  The 1st was mid-way through when we arrived on building a tiny home and the 2nd we only heard part of as well on living tiny.  Most interesting (and somewhat amusing) though were the conversations overheard while waiting in line to go into the viewing homes.  One woman we chatted with had come all of the way from NY to come to the festival, she was interesting in a tiny home as a vacation home option.  Another group of people were older retirees, they didn’t seem to feel the tiny homes and lifestyle were very sustainable for day to day living but the gist of their conversation seemed most were interested for vacation homes as well.  And then a mother who seemed to be there to support her college age son.  Those conversations were interesting, though his desires to go tiny didn’t seem to gel with his understanding of cost of living as a whole.

On a disability note, why am I always surprised at the lack of accessibility of such events?  I mean, Tiny Houses could be a very viable option for many with disabilities.  Yet, parts of this event were a struggle to move through for me who is fairly able bodied.  Bathrooms up 2 flights of stairs, no handicap stall, narrow wobbly stair cases leading in and out of each home, no  handicap parking, complete lack of curb cuts, etc.  It was just disappointing to see the venue so inaccessible.

All in all though we had a very nice time, and I’m glad we went.  And I was inspired to return home and install a new closet light fixture.  I find it always rewarding and very self-satisfying (my husband would say self-sabotaging based on the levels of pain I’m always in after) to complete a project.  Especially one that makes life easier such as now having light in the very dark front hall closet and to have done without electrocuting anyone!  Yippee!

IMG_8093

A line of people waiting to view one of the Tiny Houses at the Festival

  1.  At least as small as these were.  Our present home is smaller than most in our area at under 1,000 square feet, but living with 2 people and at least 2 dogs in 150-350 square feet I don’t think would be sustainable for us.  My husband and I are both very strong introverts and really need individual places for quiet alone time.
